Predefined Storage Destination - Wasabi UK storage now available on all clusters

Wasabi UK has been added as a predefined storage destination on all UK and EU clusters.

The predefined storage locations are Azure UK, Wasabi EU, and Wasabi UK.

Predefined storage is managed by BOBcloud. You can still use your own storage or any of the hundreds of cloud storage services instead.

Our online calculator can be viewed here

FAQs

Can a backup account have more than one storage destination?
Yes.
A lot of resellers backup to at least one cloud storage destination and also to a local USB disk or NAS. This is highly recommended.

Can I ‘live migrate’ the existing storage on my backup sets to Wasabi UK?
No. It is not possible to automatically move your data sets from one storage location to another. See Moving below.

Can I move the existing storage on my backup sets to Wasabi UK?
Yes (this process has 2 steps).
You might want to do this so you can reduce your storage costs if you are using an expensive storage destination like Microsoft Azure for your data sets. A cost-effective solution is to use Wasabi UK or any of the hundreds of cloud storage destinations.

Steps 2 and 3 below explain how to move a backup set’s storage from one destination to another.


1. Adding the predefined Wasabi UK storage destination on a NEW backup set

Create a new backup set as usual

Add a Destination

image

Click on the dropdown and select BOBcloud on Wasabi (UK region)

image

Complete the setup.


2. Adding the predefined Wasabi UK storage destination to an EXISTING backup set

This is the process if you want to backup to a new storage destination whilst preserving your existing backed-up data.

Edit the backup set and click on the Destination tab

Click on the dropdown and select BOBcloud on Wasabi (UK region)

image

Finish editing the backup set.

When the backup set next runs, it will backup to all configured storage destinations. If you want to remove the previous storage destination, wait until the backup set has finished backing up to the new storage destination.


3. Deleting an existing storage destination (be careful!)

If you want to delete the previous backup set’s storage destination, you can do so by editing the storage destination(s) and double-clicking on the destination you want to remove.

On the next screen, click on Delete this storage destination in the bottom left of the screen.

image

CAUTION When you delete an existing storage destination from a backup set, the data is purged immediately along with all the history and CANNOT be recovered, If in doubt, contact us on support@bocloud.net